Ernest Hemingway: Three Legendary Works

ernest hemingway 1st edition for whom the bell tollsErnest Hemingway, July 21, 1899 – July 2, 1961, is one of the most successful and highly regarded writers in the history of American literature. His understated style of writing had a major influence on 20th-century fiction, while his life of adventure and his public image influenced later generations. Hemingway won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1954. He published seven novels, six short story collections, and two non-fiction works. Additional works, including three novels, four short story collections, and three non-fiction works, were published posthumously. Many of his works are considered classics of American literatureThree of his most popular novels are For Whom the Bell Tolls, The Sun Also Rises, and A Farewell to Arms. Click here to get a set of all three 1st Editions now at the Pay IT 4Ward Bookstore! Here’s some more info on each of these works.

For Whom the Bell Tolls is a novel by Ernest Hemingway published in 1940. It tells the story of Robert Jordan, a young American in the International Brigades attached to a republican guerrilla unit during the Spanish Civil War.  For Whom the Bell Tolls is commonly regarded as one of Hemingway’s best works.  A film adaptation of Hemingway’s novel, directed by Sam Wood, was released in 1943 starring Gary Cooper and Ingrid Bergman. It was nominated for nine Academy Awards, including Best Picture, Best Actor and Best Actress. In 1956, a television adaptation, directed by John Frankenheimer, was broadcast in two parts on CBS‘s Playhouse 90, starring Jason Robards and Maria Schell.

unnnamedThe Sun Also Rises is a 1926 novel by Ernest Hemingway. Like For Whom the Bell Tolls, this work has been regarded as Hemingway’s greatest publication.  The Sun Also Rises is about a group of American and British expatriates who travel from Paris to the Festival of San Fermín in Pamplona to watch the running of the bullsand the bullfights.  The Sun Also Rises was published in the United States in October 1926 by Scribner’s. A year later, the London publishing house Jonathan Cape published the novel with the title of Fiesta. Hemingway biographer Jeffrey Meyers writes that it is “recognized as Hemingway’s greatest work.” In addition, Hemingway scholar Linda Wagner-Martin calls it his “most important novel.”  

A Farewell to Arms is a novel by Ernest Hemingway set during the Italian campaign of World War I. The publication of A Farewell to Arms cemented Hemingway’s status as a modern American writer and became his first best-seller. Originally printed in Scribner’s Magazine, A Farewell to Arms was published in September 1929. This work is described by biographer Michael Reynolds as “the premier American war novel from that debacle World War I.”

A Farewell to Arms is a first-person account of American Frederic Henry, serving as a Lieutenant in the ambulance corps of the Italian Army. It follows a love affair between Henry and Catherine Barkley, set against the tumultuous backdrop of World War I.  The title is taken from a poem by 16th-century English dramatist George Peele. A Farewell to Arms has been adapted for the stage in 1930, and later for film in 1932 and 1957. It was also adapted into a TV miniseries in 1966. The 1996 film In Love and War, directed by Richard Attenborough and starring Sandra Bullock, depicts Hemingway’s life in Italy as an ambulance driver in the events prior to his writing of A Farewell to Arms.

Visit Pay IT 4Ward Bookstore to get a set of all three vintage 1st edition hardcovers – click here now!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s